Click to view property for sale in
Nannerch can trace it's history back to prehistoric times, Stone Age flint tools have
been found, Bronze Age burial mounts dot the hillsides, and three Bronze Age axes
were discovered nearby. Iron Age hillforts crown Penyclodiau and Moel Arthur to
the west of the village. A standing stone circle in the grounds of Penbedw may be
another prehistoric relic, or possibly a folly, built by the 18th century owner.
The first documentary references to Nannerch are a tax return ad a list of clergy,
dated 1254, indicating that a church was in existence at this time.
Key figures in Welsh historyhave been associated with the area, including Llywelyn
the great, who gave Penbedw to his daughter Gwenllian, and Owain Glyndwr who
took brief possession of Penbedw during his rebellion.
The families who owned the nearby Penbedw Estate have influenced village life
greatly over the years. They funded the church, school and village hall, and provided
emplyment for many locals.
The village itself remained fairly small for many years. Just a dozen or so
properties, built of local limestone, clustered around the church and along the tree
lined Main Street. Most villagers worked locally and few travelled far. The village
has expanded considerably over the centuries, but community spirit remains
strong, with regular local events and a range of flourishing clubs.
The above text is a short extract from a
booklet named Discover Nannerch,
which can be downloaded to your PC
by clicking on the photo opposite.